or Sandhurst, since the courses at the latter institutions are shorter than the Canadian. Positions in the Public Works Department, Hydrographic Survey, etc., may also be obtained by graduates. Several Canadian universities admit graduates to the third years of arts and science courses.

The principal Canadian universities admit recommended graduates to the fourth year of their civil engineering courses and to the third year of other engineering courses, including chemical engineering. The R.M.C. diploma is also accepted by the Law Societies and Bar Associations of Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, British Columbia and Alberta, as the equivalent of a B.A. degree for admission to the study of law. The Institute of Chartered Accountants of America and the Association of Accountants of Quebec likewise accept R.M.C. graduates as registered students under the same conditions as university graduates.

Entrance to the College is on a competitive basis. Candidates are required to pass a rigid medical examination, and to have obtained junior matriculation or its equivalent in the province where they have been educated.

Applications for admission to the College should reach The Secretary, Dept. of National Defence, Ottawa, before May 31 of each year.

Section 3.—Public Works.

Since Confederation and before, the Department of Public Works has been known as the constructing department. In 1879 the railways and canals were placed under control of a new department, the building and maintenance of penitentiaries were transferred to the Department of Justice, the maintenance and construction of lighthouses to the Marine and Fisheries Department, and the smaller drill halls and armouries to the Department of Militia and Defence. The work of the Department of Public Works is now divided into three principal branches, viz., the Engineering Branch, the Architect's Branch and the Telegraph Branch.

Engineering.—The Engineering Branch conducts the construction and repair of wharves, piers, breakwaters, dams, weirs, bank and beach protection works; the improvement of harbours and rivers by dredging; the construction, maintenance and operation of Government dredging plant; the construction and maintenance of graving docks; the construction and maintenance of interprovincial bridges and approaches thereto, and of bridges on highways of national importance in the Northwest Territories; the maintenance of military roads, also hydrographic and ordinary surveys and examinations, inclusive of some precise levelling and geodetic measurements which are required for the preparation of plans, reports, and estimates; river gaugings and metering; the testing of cements and materials of construction; the licensing of international and interprovincial ferries; and the control of works constructed in or over navigable waters by authority of the Navigable Waters Protection Act.

Architecture.—The Architect's Branch constructs and maintains Government buildings, post offices, customs houses, examining warehouses, and constructs quarantine, immigration and experimental farm buildings, armouries, military hospitals and drill halls, and telegraph offices.

Telegraphs.—The Telegraph Branch has control over the construction, repairs and maintenance of all Government-owned telegraph lines and cables. These lines are located in the provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia and the Yukon. (See also pp. 687-688.)